Alone but not Lonely

Each morning I awake, throw on my clothes and Nikes and take my morning walk through the beautiful tree lined streets of my neighborhood.  Always meet other walkers and we usually say hello or chat about the weather.  Then there are the golfers on the golf course and the birds, squirrels and beautiful gardens to admire.  This always puts me in a good mood.  After the 30 minute walk, I come back to my home and have coffee and toast with peanut butter and read the daily local paper. 

It is September and the weather has warmed up into the 90s.  We used to say Indian summer, but I don’t think that is acceptable anymore.  September always feels like the beginning of a new year.  Perhaps that is because I was a teacher, but it always feels like I need to start something to carry me through to the spring.  So, I have started this blog and am also working on some other writing. 

The title today is “Alone but not Lonely”.  Yes, I choose to live alone.  It wasn’t always that way.  I was married and had children.  My husband and I parted ways and the children grew into adults and followed their own paths.  My work was the world of teaching which I found extremely fulfilling.  However, the time came to retire from teaching and begin a new life.  The last ten years of my teaching life had been in Europe, so it was quite exciting to transition back to the American way of life.  And, although I lived in a house by myself, my sisters and their husbands were near. 

My antique collection was filling up my house and my double garage, so I decided to become part of an antique mall and sell.  What a new adventure!  Suddenly I realized that, not only did I know a lot about antiques, but I enjoyed the customers and the other dealers in the mall.  New friends to go out with and to converse with.  Also joined a gym and took aerobics classes to keep up my energy and health.  Then I discovered Ebay.  This was 1999 and Ebay was still like an online garage sale.  I started with books, magazines, and LPs, which sold and I realised that I was downsizing and recycling all my wonderful stuff.  Super! 

At this time period I never felt lonely, even though I was living alone.  Family plus new and old friends were part of my life. 

So…how do you live alone and not be lonely?  We will talk more about that tomorrow. 

See you then! 

 

 

 

 

About alonegwen

Retired educator interested in living life fully. Will write about aging wisely, good reads, food, travel, dance reviews, and other items as they interest me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Alone but not Lonely

Leave a Reply

