Eating solo

Here I stand in front of the open refrigerator looking for something to eat for dinner.  I don’t want to go to the store and I’m hungry right now.  Well, there is some moldy cheese.  I guess I could cut off the mold and slice it up and put it on crackers.  Anything in the freezer?  Just ice cubes.  What about in the pantry?  Not even peanut butter! 

Does this ring familiar with you?  How many of us wait until the last minute to find something to eat after a day at work, or a meeting? 

There are alternatives to an empty fridge.   Sometimes I stop at the deli to buy something that has been prepared, but that is almost as expensive as going to a restaurant.  I really do not like eating in a restaurant alone, except when I am traveling.    I remember a FRAZIER episode where Frazier was going to meet his brother Niels at an upscale eatery.  After Frazier is seated, Niels calls and says he won’t be able to make it.  Frazier thinks that’s ok, I will just enjoy a meal by myself.  The waiter approaches the table.  “Do you want to wait for your friend?” he asks.  “No”, Frazier says.  “He won’t be able to join me”.  With that the waiter scoops up the second place setting with much clanking and clacking.  Frazier is suddenly aware that everyone is looking at him…with pity in their eyes.  Poor man.  He has to eat alone.  How many of us have been in Frazier’s situation?  I know I have.  Why do they always take away the extra plate, silverware and glasses?  It always makes me feel so alone.  More alone than I felt when I walked in.  I think next time I will ask the waiter to leave the extra place setting.  Eating out is really a social event. 

So, what are the options?  Well, I checked the internet and there are many websites catering to the single cook.  Notice that I said cook, not eater.  Meals for one do take some planning and some time to fix. 

If you don’t like to cook, there is always Chinese take away or Pizza delivery…

However, if you want to take a chance at cooking a decent meal for yourself you are in luck.  With just 10 minutes on the internet I found three good sites and there were many more. 

“Cooking for One” by Ashley Lojko is very complete.  Her website seems to be kept up to date and has recipes for main dishes, side dishes, snacks, vegetarian food, cooking tips,  and help with menus.  She even writes about the healthy aspects of cooking and eating certain foods.  Very well done.  The website is http://cookingforone.ashleylojko.com  Check it out.

Another site is “delish”.  These recipes are certainly not boring.  They spotlight Judith Jones’ book THE PLEASURES OF COOKING FOR ONE cookbook.  These are easy dinners that would make good lunches with the leftovers.  Penne with Tuna, Plum Tomatoes, and Black Olives might tempt your taste buds.  Or a Chicken Salad made with that left over roast chicken from the market.  Or Baked Bass with Fingerlings and Zucchini.  www.delish.com/recipes/cooking-recipes/cooking-for-one

Even “epicurious” features Cooking for One with Joe Yonan’s recipes and tips for a single serving by Esther Sung.  Joe Yonan is the author of SERVE YOURSELF: NIGHTLY ADVENTURES IN COOKING FOR ONE.  He is also the food editor of “The Washington Post”.  He says that cooking for one can be a very pleasurable experience–because, well, you’re worth it!  www.epicurious.com/articlesguides/everydaycooking/family/cookingforone

There is also a very good English book by Delia Smith, author and TV personality in the UK.  She is very popular and has sold over 21 million cookery books.  The one I have is ONE IS FUN!  Love the title!  Lots of great recipes.  Available on Amazon.  She also has a website.  (Doesn’t everyone?)  Check out www.deliaonline.com

Ok…if you are not hungry by now…well…

Good luck to you.  I’m still standing in front of the open fridge.  Hmmmm….

About alonegwen

Retired educator interested in living life fully. Will write about aging wisely, good reads, food, travel, dance reviews, and other items as they interest me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Eating solo

  1. Wow! Thank you so much for the nice comments about Cooking For One on your blog yesterday. I was just in the process of getting ready to post some fall recipes because I hadn’t posted in a while and I saw the track back to your site. It’s nice to know that someone out there is able to use what I write! Let me know if you make any of the recipes….I’d love to hear how they work out 🙂 I’ve enjoyed reading some of your blog posts as well!

    Cheers!
    Ashley

  2. Tony says:

    Can’t believe you ran out of peanut butter, what about your toast in the morning after your walk. Love from England xx

    • alonegwen says:

      No, I haven’t run out of peanut butter. This is a blog about living alone, so that is my focus. If you want me to write about my daily personal life, I can add you to my daily “family” emails…Hope all is well in Brandon. Love from the US!

Leave a Reply

