Birthday!

Happy Birthday to me and to all those born on this day!  Some famous names who also have a birthday today are:  Catherine Zeta-Jones and Michael Douglas, Will Smith, Christopher Reeve, Juliet Prowse, Glenn Gould, Shel Silverstein, Barbara Walters, Dmitri Shostakovich, plus William Faulkner.  A great array of Librans!

Started thinking about all my past birthdays.  It’s funny, I have no memories of my birthdays as a child.  I know we must have celebrated, but I have absolutely no recollection of any of them.  Seems strange.  Two of my favorite adult birthday memories are the year that my two daughters presented me with a surprise party  and they danced an original duet as my gift.  I cherish that memory.  My other one was a year ago when I went up in a hot air balloon! 

Most major religions celebrate the birth of their founders.  However, Jehovah’s Witness do not celebrate birthdays, for they consider that a pagan rite.  Muslims do not recognize the celebration of personal birthdays.  In Islam they believe that each year you are closer to death and closer to meeting your maker. 

Birthdays are definitely a legal marker as well.  You become eligible to marry without parental consent, to vote,  join the military, to run for elected office, legally purchase alcohol and tobacco, purchase lottery tickets, or obtain a driver’s license, collect social security and a pension, use your medicare benefits, and join AARP. 

Well, I am certainly beyond all of those markers…Way beyond.  I have been retired for thirteen years, and look forward to being in my healthy nineties in another thirteen.  I am a sometimes wise elder who enjoys life, family, and friends. 

So Happy Birthday to all of us born this day!  Where’s the cake?

About alonegwen

Retired educator interested in living life fully. Will write about aging wisely, good reads, food, travel, dance reviews, and other items as they interest me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday!

  1. Amy says:

    I love this post, Gwen!

Leave a Reply

