sell this house? A Melodrama in 4 Acts

Act I, Scene 1:  January 2010

Cast of Characters:  ME, the seller

                                 BB, the real estate agent

                                 EH, another real estate agent

                                 Pavarotti, ME’s sick cat

BB (1/13/2010):  I’m trying to get my schedule for next week in order in advance because I’ll be in Portland this weekend helping my dad move into an Alzheimer’s facility.  We had talked about meeting on Tuesday, 1/19 – would 3 pm work for you on that day?  Let me know.  EH will be coming as well since she hasn’t seen your house and usually is the one who does the staging conversation with sellers.  Also let me know how it’s coming with getting ready.

BB (1/22/2010):  Just checking in with you to see if you’re on track for going on the market February 12th.  Let me know how you’re progressing.  And also let me know how your cat is doing — I hope you have good news!

ME (JAN 22, 2010):  Thank you for asking.  Hope all went well with your Portland trip.

To tell you the truth, I am feeling a bit overwhelmed.  Pavarotti takes so much time.  It’s like having a baby.  He seems healthy, but can’t walk.  Not sure if he ever will, which is hard.  He has tried to walk, but falls down a lot.

Not sure I will be ready on Feb 2.  That’s only a week.  Can we put it off until the 2nd week in Feb?  Or…why don’t you come on the 2nd and let me know what I still need to do to get ready to sell.

Let me know what you think.

BB (1/22/2010):  Sorry to hear Pavarotti is still ailing — I hope he recovers well.  So we’re scheduled for the 5th, not the 2nd, and yes, I will come by then to see what you still need to do and to do paperwork.  If you’re not ready, then you’re not ready and we’ll just figure it out.  I will see you on Friday, February 5th, at 2:30pm and we’ll go from there.  How’s that?

ME (JAN 24, 2010):  On this very rainy day, I checked on the internet and found a house to look at.  Fairly new.  I looked at this house when it was being built I think.  One listing has it at $249K.  Another lists it as a condo at $293K.  Could we take a look sometime in the next couple of weeks?  Let me know what you think.

Pavarotti is about the same.  Cabinet in the downstairs hallway is gone.  Lots more stuff put away.

See you on Feb 5th.

BB (1/24/2010):   Excellent!  I’ve cc’s EH on this so that she can set something up with you.  I have a couple of houses coming on the market in the next few weeks (including yours!) so we’re back to arranging buyer’s with EH and seller’s with me, if that’s okay with you.  Let me know, of course, if it’s not.

I’m sorry to hear that Pavarotti hasn’t snapped out of it yet.  My fingers are still crossed that he’ll greatly improve!

Glad to hear you’re busy getting prepared!  See you soon!

 

About alonegwen

Retired educator interested in living life fully. Will write about aging wisely, good reads, food, travel, dance reviews, and other items as they interest me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

