sell this house? A Melodrama in 4 Acts

sell this house?  A Melodrama in 4 Acts

Cast of characters:  Me, the house owner

                                 BB, the real estate agent

                                 EH, another real estate agent

This melodrama is based on emails between 9/30/2009 and 3/24/2011

PROLOGUE, LISTING?

BB (9/30/2009):  I got your emails and will talk with EH and we’ll figure out a plan for showing you houses for sale.  One thing that is useful is to click on the “M” next to a listing which will bring up a map of where the property is.  You can zoom in and out and also get aerial views.  This helps if, for instance, a property looks great in the photos but on the map it shows that it’s really close to a highway or something.  Another useful thing is to drive by ones that you’re interested in and see what they look like from the outside.  I don’t know if you’re doing a lot of driving these days during your recovery (from hip replacement surgery) so that might not be a good option for you. 

Another thing to keep in mind is that houses aren’t typically selling for their asking prices lately.  Most offers come in below their currant price, so I will be sending you ones that are listed up to $325K with the thought that you could write a lower offer if you really like the place.  I’ve seen houses close for way less than the listed price lately, which is both good and bad.  Good for buyers to get a deal, but bad if you’re the seller.  So that’s also something to keep in mind when we go to sell your house.

Let me know if you have any other questions and I’ll see you Wednesday morning.

ME (October 13, 2009):  Thank you for coming over last week and giving me pointers on selling the house.  Went with EH yesterday and looked at the 3 available Springfield river houses.  I really like the Edgemont one.  Will go back and look again.

I have given much thought to your suggestions about removing furniture, etc from the house.  I must tell you that I do not have the budget to rent a storage unit and hire movers.  Also, I want to live in the house the way it is, so I can enjoy my things.  Therefore, I am not going to remove any of the furniture.  I will tidy up the rooms, however.  That is not a problem.  So, people looking at the house can enjoy my art, etc.  By the way, the chandelier over the dining table does not go with the house.  I forgot to tell you that.  I still have the original chandelier that will be left so the new owners can decide what to do.

Now, about the open house.  After thinking about the possiblity of theft, breakage, etc, I have decided I do not want an open house.  That may be disappointing to you, but that is the way I am feeling.  If people are interested, they can make an appointment.

Thanks for all your advice, even if I don’t take it.

BB (10/13/2009):  No problem!  Give me a call and we can talk about it some more.  I just give you suggestions on the ultimate way for a house to go on the market, but by no means is it all completely necessary.  Really your house is pretty much ready for showing with just a little bit more clean-up.  I think the most important thing is to make sure that items that have a lot of value to you are put away just for safety reasons.  Showings are a bit like open houses in that respect- while an agent is there with people, the people are not always fully monitored.  I have never had a problem like that occur in any house (knock on wood) but it’s better to be safe than sorry.

EH did tell me about Edgemont so give me a call when you get a chance and we’ll talk about that as well.  Thanks!

BB (11/9/2009):  The legislation for a Homebuyer’s Tax Credit has been extended and expanded!

Who Qualifies for the Extended Credit?

  • First time homebuyers who purchase before April 30, 2010 are eligible for a tax credit of up to $8000.
  • Current homeowners purchasing a new principal residence before April 30, 2010 are eligible for the extended tax credit of up to $6,500. (note Nov 2011.  This was not used.)

ME (Nov 10, 2009):  After giving it a lot of thought, I have decided NOT to put my house up for sale right now.  I will take my chances.  If the Edgemont Way house sells, so be it.  If not, we can revisit it in January/2010.  Have a good holiday!

BB (11/10/2009):  Okay, sounds good.  I figured it may be something you weren’t ready for — but we’ll be ready to go in January.  I think that’s better than waiting until February this year because of the deadline of the tax credit that some buyer’s will want to take advantage of.  Let me know if you have any questions between now and then.  Happy Holidays to you too!

About alonegwen

Retired educator interested in living life fully. Will write about aging wisely, good reads, food, travel, dance reviews, and other items as they interest me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

