Sell this house Melodrama… March 2011

BB 3/4/2011 10:51am:

Calling you about this right now!

JB Friday, March 4, 2011, 10am:

Hi BB,

Attached is the sales offer for the house.  Please confirm receipt — I’ll also call to let you know I’ve sent it.  Let me know what the seller thinks, hopefully we can make this work.

best, jB

BB 3/4/2011 2:35pm:

Hi ME,

here is the buyer’s approval letter.  See you soon!

BB

3/4/2011 3:56pm:

Inspection tentatively scheduled for Thursday March 24 at 2PM.

HUD SH Friday, March 4, 2011 3:56pm:

Here you go.  I added estimated addtl int thru 4/30/11 on the pay off and an addtl est amt for attorney fees, and what was left over I threw in the Citi pot, which is $22,804 approx.

ME Wednesday, March 9, 2011 2:15pm:

Dear BB:

Hope your week is going well.

How long do you think we will have to wait for an answer from Wells Fargo and Citifinancial?  I realize it has only been a few days, but I was just wondering.

Wells Fargo called me this morning.  To collect money I owe, of course.  He did not know that we had a real offer, so I explained to him what was happening.  He didn’t even know the house was for sale.

By the way, are you still interested in the double bed in the Ship Room?  It’s yours, if you still want it.  I’ll even through in the sheets and comforter and pillows.  Otherwise I am giving it to Good Will.

Going to look at a rental tomorrow at Rivers Edge by the river.  I lived there before in 1987/89 before I moved to Europe and really liked their 2bed/2bath town home.  The only thing it doesn’t have is a garage, but the rent is only $830 a month and that includes water, sewer, garbage and cable.  They have a townhome available as of April 1.  Hoping we will hear about the house sale before then.

Well, back to my packing.  Got a couple of more boxes finished today.

cheers, ME

BB 3/9/2011 3:33pm:

Hi ME,

Citifinancial said last time that they would respond within 10 days and they did on the first offer.  Since I just faxed it to them Friday afternoon around 5pm then it’s only 3 business days including today.  So I think we will hear from them by the end of the week or the beginning of next week at the earliest.  We won’t hear from Wells Fargo because they will just be paid off in full — they are not being shorted in this offer so they will just receive the payoff at closing and don’t need to approve of anything.  So the only thing that we’re waiting for is for Citifinancial to approve it.  And since they had verbally accepted $20K on the last offer, I’m very hopeful that they will just stamp APPROVED on the paperwork and move on!  I will call them on Friday if I haven’t heard anything by then.

Yes, I’ll take the double bed!  We might want to check with the buyers first though.  These were the people who wanted as much furniture as possible included in the deal, so I imagine that they would want it left with the house if you’re willing to leave it.  If they don’t want it then I will definitely take it — but I have a feeling that they want it.  I’ll check with J… but you might want to give me a list of other things that you are willing to either include with the house or sell to them.  If you email me a list of things then I can forward it on to J…

I know those townhouses.  I don’t live too far from there.  In fact, I just walked my dog down there about an hour ago.  It’s lovely on the bike path right now — the plum trees are blooming, the star magnolia is in blook at the Rose Garden and the azaleas there are starting to bloom as well.  I think that would be a good spot for you — especially if you liked it when you lived there before.  The bike path/river area is really beautiful in the summer.

I’ll let you know as soon as I hear anything from Citifinancial.  It sure was nice not to have rain today!

Thanks, BB

ME Wednesday March 9, 2011 3:49pm:

Thanks BB.  That is good information.  I will be patient.

And … no I didn’t realize these were the people that wanted furniture.  I’m not sure I will leave anything…except the double bed.  Hmmm…I’ll think about that.

Thanks for the support on living by the river.  I think that is a good fit.

ME

BB 3/10/2011 11:04am:

Hi ME,

Here is the approval paper work from Citifinancial.  SH will detail it later, but I looked it over and everything seems to be in order.

Woo Hoo!

Thanks, BB

BB 3/14/2011 1:03pm:

Hi ME,

The current buyers want to come and see your house again this week on Thursday around noon.  Does that work for you?  Let me know if that day and time works for you — I think they just want another peek now that they are pending.

Thanks! BB

BB 3/16/2011 1:06pm:

Hi ME,

The agent and the buyers will be at your house tomorrow closer to 12:30 – so a little later than they thought.  I’ll let you know if their plans change for any reason.

I see sunshine…that’s a good thing!  Hope you’re having a great day.

Thanks! BB

ME Wed March 16, 2011 1:10pm:

Dear BB,

Yes, that’s fine.  Do I have to stay here?  I was planning to be out of the way…And I am ready for some sun!

Went to the eye doctor this morning, so the world is soft and blurry around the edges.

Quote for the day:  “Fortify yourself with contentment, for this is an impregnable fortress.”  Epictelus (an old Greek guy)

ME

BB 3/16/2011 1:28pm:

Love the quote!  That’s a good one!

No, you don’t have to stay there.  In fact, it’s preferable if you’re not there.  But I just wanted to let you know that you don’t have to leave right before noon.  Now you have to leave right before noon thirty.  I was tempted to write this all in caps for your soft and blurry world!

BB 3/18/2011 2:03pm:

Hi ME,

All is well.  Our next hurdle is the inspection on Thursday 3/24 at 2pm.  I will be out of town, but will have my cell phone and computer with me.

Super full moon tonight — did you hear about that?  Apparently it’s the biggest one for another 29 years.  Time to start howling!

Thanks, BB

ME Friday, March 18, 2011 3:12pm:

Dear BB,

Thanks!  I will be out of town on Tues and Wed March 22/23 with AARP business.  Home on the 24th.

2 daughters?  Now I know why both beds looked like someone had been on them.  No problem, by the way.  Do you know about how olf they are??  My neighbors were asking.

Yes, I read about the moon.  Cool…if we can see it…

cheers, ME

BB 3/18/2011 6:08pm:

Hi ME,

I’ll ask about the ages of the daughters.

Meanwhile a real estate agent in Portland sent me this Link: www.http.//huntingonhomes.ocregister.com/2011/03/17mad-about-short-sales-hes-got-a-website-for-you/132593/ A website has been created about frustrations with short sales.  It’s for agents and clients and I bet it will see a lot of use!  There is even a blog section that we can add our experience to, and a rating area where people vote in about their experience with different lenders.  Not surprising to see that Citifinancial got 78% negative votes while Wells Fargo has 71% positive votes.  I’d say that about sums up our experience.  The link above is a news story explaining the site.  The direct link is:  www.http//shortsaleratings.com/index.php

Check it out and share your/our experience!

Thanks, BB

ME Monday March 21, 2011 2:31pm:

Well, I think I have found my place in the Champignon townhouses off Cal Young.  Went and looked at it this morning.  Rent is only $895 for 2 bedrooms and 1/1/2 baths.  Take my house we just sold and shrink it down to 1000 sq ft and you have it.  Even has board and bead ceilings.  Haven’t put any money down yet.  People are moving out, so I want to see it again without their boxes, etc.  I won’t move until after we close, so I am keeping my fingers crossed that nothing comes up in the inspection to make the buyers back out.  (I’m almost afraid to say anything)

Now I have to rethink all my furniture.  I may not have room for it all.  When I go back this weekend to look again I will take some measurements.

I hope this works.

cheers, ME

BB 3/21/2011 2:37pm:

Hi ME,

That’s exciting news!  I hope it works too.  I was thinking about you this weekend and wondering if you’d had any success on finding a place.  I too hope that the inspections go well and that this will move forward.  But you’ll have to move regardless so it’s good to know that you have something that may work!  And the sun is even coming out — happy day!

xo, BB

ME Wednesday March 23, 2011, 9:10pm:

Dear BB,

Hi.  I haven’t been feeling very well the last couple of days and have developed a rash under one of my arms.  I was wondering.  I know the inspection is tomorrow at 2.  Do you know how long they will be here?  Anything I need to do to prepare?  I may go see my doctor tomorrow if this rash isn’t better.  Just want to know how long I need to stay away.

thanks, ME

BB 3/23/2011, 10:04pm:

Hi ME,

So sorry to hear you’re not feeling well.

Generally inspections are about 3 hours, so I would expect that you should be away until about 5pm.  There is nothing you need to do to prepare really, the inspector will take a look at every single thing (as you’ve seen in the past) and then go over everything with the buyer.  Usually the inspector is there working by himself for the first 2 or 2 1/2 hours and then the buyers and the buyers agent come and meet him and go over everything that he’s found.  So I would expect that the buyers would be there around 4 or 4:30 to meet with him.

It would be better, for scheduling purposes, to be gone while the buyers are there rather than while the inspector is there working if you need to be home and can’t get away for the entire 3 hours.  If that’s the case then I would suggest sticking around at the beginning and just letting the inspector know that you will be lying down or busy in one room or such.  And then plan to be away during the inspection, but then leave when the other people get there.  The biggest thing is to stay out of his way and let him do the work.  It’s even fine to be there the entire time if that’s necessary, you just want to give the inspector and the buyers the space that they need to conduct a thorough inspection.

Does that help?  Let me know if you want to talk about it tomorrow and we can figure out what works best for you.  The main thing that you need to do is take care of yourself, but you also want to help foster the buyers going through with this since that ultimately helps you more in the long run.  But let me knwo if you need me to explain anything to the agent and the inspector if you’re not feeling up to leaving for the entire time.

I’m hoping you have a restful night of sleep and a lovely day tomorrow!

xo, BB

ME Thursday March 24, 2011 9:35am:

Hi again…I am seeing my doctor at 2pm.  I can leave the door open for the inspector, as I will have to leave before 2.  Going to try to stay with a friend after that.

thanks, ME

BB 3/24/011 10:33am:

Hi ME,

Generally the buyers agent comes and meets the inspector to let him in.  I can let John know that you’re leaving the door open for the inspector if that’s okay with you.

Hope you have good news from the doctor and feel better soon!

Thanks, BB.

About alonegwen

Retired educator interested in living life fully. Will write about aging wisely, good reads, food, travel, dance reviews, and other items as they interest me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

