Lessons learned from sell this house?

LESSON #1

Do not buy a house if you are over 65, unless you have deep pockets or you win the lottery!  Owning a house involves the initial down payment, moving costs, and real estate fees.  Although you might be able to get a 30 year loan, who knows what health crisis you will face within that 30 years.  Also, maintenance on a home is pricey.  Plumbers, electricians, gardeners, and painters are earning a living and they want to be paid.  Although I had bought an older home, a newer home will also need maintainance.  I learned my lesson the hard way by ignoring the reality of home ownership and now I know I will always rent.

The first house I bought in the foothills of the Sierra Nevada’s was wonderful and I think of it often.  However, after a disastrous wild-fire, the glow of owning this place was lost.  Then my sister and her husband left the area and I was a little isolated.  The view of the burned canyon was no longer pleasing.  The real estate market was up and I sold that house in three days.  With my tidy profit I bought a new house on the Oregon coast with a fantastic view of the water.  That lasted about 18 months and then I knew I was isolated again.  The real estate market was still fine and I bought the Eugene house.  We all know how well that turned out.

The condo/house I am renting is delightful, affordable, and has many neighbors.  Now, when something goes wrong in the place, I call the landlord and get the toilet fixed…and then a new dishwasher…or the fence painted, without putting out more than my monthly rent.  Fantastic.

Buy or rent?  Rent… (and put any extra dollars into savings).

About alonegwen

Retired educator interested in living life fully. Will write about aging wisely, good reads, food, travel, dance reviews, and other items as they interest me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

