New Adventure

Yesterday was Easter and I always think of that as a time to wake up and smell the coffee.  A time to get to work on whatever needs to be done.  A time to work in the garden and crack the useless negative thoughts that seem to hang on in the winter.  I want my eggs to be beautiful!

The last five years have been an exercise in reducing my material stuff, solving some health issues (like a hip replacement) and getting rid of my financial burdens.  I sold hundreds of collectables on eBay and Craigslist.  I had a couple of antique sales.  This was all to reduce the amazing things I had collected from all over the world in the last 30 years and find them new homes.  I lived in Germany and England for ten years, while teaching in DODDS (Department Of Defense) schools and was able to travel all over Europe, Egypt, Greece, and the Soviet Union, picking up treasures along the way.  The biggest project was selling my 2200 square foot historic house, which I did after thirteen months with the help of my wonderful realtor at Windemere Real Estate.  www.windemere.com   My earlier blogs talked about this stressful 13 month process.  I also carted dozens of boxes and bags of books and clothes and miscellaneous items to good will.  Whew!  Now I am living in a charming rented condo surrounded by all the best of my art and antiques, and very satisfied.

Now I am ready to work on the physical me.  I want to get stronger and reduce my physical size.  If you live alone, you know that it is not easy to eat right and exercise.  Of course, you may be a very motivated person who can stick to a routine.  Well, I don’t seem to be made that way.  I live in a lovely neighborhood that is great for daily walking.  Even has a nice hill to trudge up.  When I moved here almost a year ago, I started walking thirty minutes almost every day.  However, I knew I needed more.  So, in October of 2011 I joined Oakway Fitness, which is close to my house, and started going to Silver Sneakers twice a week.  www.oakwayfit.com/  It’s a very popular class for the over 50 group.   It is always full.  In fact, they have added a second class due to the attendance.  I like it and can feel myself getting stronger.

Now I have the motivation (and the dollars) to join a weight loss program.   I have done just about every program in the past.  Dr. Oz, Dr Phil, Nutrisystem, etc.  But, after seeing all the ads for Weight Watchers I became convinced to actually try their system.  www.weightwatcher.com  Last week I joined.  I plan to write in this blog about the good, the bad, and the ugly of sticking to their Points program for the next six months.  I turn eighty years old in September and the best birthday present I can give myself  is to get fit and lose some weight.  So, I hope you will join me in this new adventure.

Here are some nuts and bolts about the program.  First, I didn’t have to pay a joining fee, but I do have to pay $12 a week.  That works out to $48 a month.  A hefty fee, I think, so I don’t want to waste my dollars.  They weighed me on April 2.  162.4 pounds.  I am only five foot, two inches.   They also gave me a bag full of tools.  How the points work.  Sample menus for the first three weeks.  Nutrition information.  I have to go to a meeting once a week.  I have chosen 9:30am on Tuesdays, because that fits with my Silver Sneakers schedule.  They also have meetings at noon and 5:30pm that I could attend.  Each week you weigh in.  The hope is you will lose at least a half a pound and maybe up to 5 pounds.  I will find out tomorrow.  There is a half hour class taught by a weight watcher graduate.  She explains the finer points of the program and answers questions.  Successes are celebrated with clapping, stickers, and charms.  (I haven’t gotten to that part yet.) After the meeting, she meets with the newbies for about 15 minutes to explain other parts of weight watchers (and try to sell you some of their books and other items.)  I bought a point calculator for $15 and it has proven very helpful.

Yesterday, which was Easter, I kind of had a meltdown.  My neighbor bought me an Easter present of a Cinnabon Cinnamon Sticky roll.  www.cinnabon.com  She didn’t know I had joined weight watchers.  Even so, it was really MY problem, not hers.  Here was my first temptation.  I considered throwing it out, but couldn’t quite make myself do that…  So, Sunday morning I made my coffee, and then cut the roll in half horizontally, so most of the icing was gone.  Then I sat down to read the Sunday paper and have my coffee.  I had cut it up in smaller pieces to eat with a fork.  I got through about half of it and started feeling the sugar, so I stopped eating.  Finished my coffee and the paper and went upstairs to check my emails.  However, that Cinnabon roll was calling to me.  I have to admit that by the end of the day I had eaten THE WHOLE DARN THING!  Hopefully, I have learned a lesson from this and can move into the second week without tripping and falling down the rabbit hole!

More tomorrow after my second weigh in and meeting.  Hope to see you then!

(This photo was taken in NYC in an upscale cupcake shop.  A weight watchers nightmare!)

About alonegwen

Retired educator interested in living life fully. Will write about aging wisely, good reads, food, travel, dance reviews, and other items as they interest me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Adventure

  1. Amy says:

    Hi Gwen. I really like the image of getting rid of unwanted negative thought on Easter. I have always felt an upsurge of old, stagnant emotions that have gone underground for the Winter, and I have to work hard to release them in a way that is effective and works for me and for the people around me. Good luck on your new adventure!

Leave a Reply

