The 5%!

Well, this is the beginning of my eighth week on Weight Watchers!  At yesterday’s weigh in I had lost 1 pound and reached my 5% goal.  That means I have lost 5% of the weight I started with in April.  Yeah!  Got a BIG star and a new booklet to take me to the next level of 10% loss.

How will I get to a 10% loss?  Continue eating right and walking and going to Silver Sneakers twice a week.

Here are some tips from my 10% booklet:

  • Ask for help.
  • Learn from experience.
  • Manage your environment.
  • Manage your feelings.
  • Manage your thoughts.
  • Prepare yourself.
  • Monitor yourself.
  • Take care of yourself.

So on we go.  Here are MY tips to myself.

  • Call a encouraging friend.
  • Remember past mistakes and do not repeat.
  • Only have foods around the house that help me stay on track.
  • Find healthy ways to deal with those triggers that have made me eat in the past.
  • Think positive thoughts.  Make a list of affermations to read every day.
  • Plan each day and stick to the plan.
  • Write down everything I eat.  Increase my awareness.
  • Respect my own needs.

So…here I go onto Week eight!

About alonegwen

Retired educator interested in living life fully. Will write about aging wisely, good reads, food, travel, dance reviews, and other items as they interest me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The 5%!

  1. That’s really great! I reached my 5% on week 8 too. I’m on week 10 now; I’ve been holding about steady since then, due to a Mother’s Day weekend splurge. It was worth it, though. I have to keep reframing this in my mind as a long-term lifestyle change, and not something I’m going to do until I lose the weight, and then stop. That way, momentary lapses are just a part of my journey instead of a big diet-ending disaster. Time to redouble my efforts and carry on! I can see using this as a tool to keep an eye on my habits for a long time. It will probably take me about a year or more to reach my goal weight, if I maintain the pace I’ve been going. Then I’ll need to work on not letting it creep back on! It’s good to hear how your journey is going, it’s very inspiring for me.

    • alonegwen says:

      Thank you for your encouraging words. You are right when you say this is a long term lifestyle change. When I was teaching and dancing most every day it wasn’t hard to keep the weight off, but my “retirement” lifestyel has taken over and that is why I am changing. We can do it!!!

Leave a Reply

